Team Alberta & Football Canada Cup

Team Alberta U18 & U17 Teams

A diverse range of talent and skill sets from across the province were assessed in Football Alberta’s Super Weekend camp, held from Jan. 12-14 at Foote Field in Edmonton.

With more than 40 top coaches running the camp and close to 400 players in attendance, only the best 100 of all those present have been handpicked to progress into the next round of training.

This is the first step for Football Alberta in selecting their Team Alberta U18 that will compete in the Football Canada Cup this summer to be hosted in Calgary from July 15-22. The Football Canada Cup is a National Championship featuring provincial teams from across Canada competing at the U18 level.

The selected athletes will now be expected to attend winter camps at the Foote Dome at the University of Alberta in February and March with the final selections of the team scheduled for April 20-22 at McMahon Stadium in Calgary.  NOTE: The actual number is over 100 with the addition of the Alberta players from Team Canada West U16 who were in Texas over this past weekend for a National Team training camp and unavailable to attend.  Team Canada West U16 defeated both Mexico 24-6 and the USA 14-12 in a round robin jamboree at the International Bowl yesterday.

At the Calgary Camp in April the Top-40 will be selected for the final roster of Team Alberta U18, while a 40 man Team Alberta U17 will also be selected, which will head to Maui in August to partake in the Pacific Challenge featuring Team Saskatchewan U17 and local Hawaiian high schools.

Here is the list of selected players advancing in the process listed alphabetically by position (NOTE: Team Canada West U16 players indicated with a *):

Anton Amundrud (Lloydminster)
Eli Hetlinger (Harry Ainlay, Edmonton)*
Tristan Lefebvre (Ernest Manning, Calgary)
Bryden O’Flaherty (Bishop O’Byrne, Calgary)
K.J. Stembridge (Henry Wise Wood, Calgary)
Xavier Vaillancourt (Cochrane)

Michael Delgado (Notre Dame, Calgary)
Dayton Gibb (Wainwright)
Cordae Hall (Strathcona, Edmonton)
Melchis Ilunga (Ross Sheppard, Edmonton)
Zach Krottner (Henry Wise Wood, Edmonton)
David Lezama (Harry Ainlay, Edmonton)
Matthew Morin (Lloydminster)
Matthew Peterson (Brooks)
Justin Quinones (Austin O’Brien, Edmonton)
Nathan Zacharias (Lloydminster)

Ajou Ajou (Harry Ainlay, Edmonton)*
Sony Bermudez-Chavez (Harry Ainlay, Edmonton)*
Christian Bowman (St. Francis, Calgary)
Payton Burbank (Foothills, Okotoks)
Nicholas Dielissen (Holy Trinity Acacemy, Okotoks)
Mike Finn (Holy Trinity, Fort McMurray)
Dawson Gladue (Cochrane)
Mathew Greiner (Notre Dame, Calgary)
Travis Heggart (Bellerose, St. Albert)
Jaxon Hume (Harry Ainlay, Edmonton)*
Kolby Hurford (Salisbury, Sherwood Park)*
Dawson Laye (Cochrane)
Tryvell Mathias (Ross Sheppard, Edmonton)
Adley Mayala (Bishop O’Byrne, Calgary)
Tanner Morris (St. Joseph’s, Grande Prairie)
Brett Muth (Harry Ainlay, Edmonton)
Keaton Neish (Foothills, Okotoks)
Lucas Robertson (Jasper Place, Edmonton)
Tanner Shaw (Salisbury, Sherwood Park)
Chevy Thomas (Notre Dame, Calgary)
Jake Thompson (Cochrane)
Nickolas Tshivuadi (Bev Facey, Sherwood Park)
Declan Wilkie (St. Francis, Calgary)

Jaxon Baker (L.C.I., Lethbridge)
Kalin Betts (L.C.I., Lethbridge)
Sam Carson (Henry Wise Wood, Calgary)*
Jacob Gulbransen (Holy Trinity Academy, Okotoks)
Jacob Hegerfeldt (Spruce Grove)
Chace Laprise (Henry Wise Wood, Calgary)
Zack McNeil (Salisbury, Sherwood Park)
Pierce Murphy (Henry Wise Wood, Calgary)
Parker Nakamura (Foothills, Okotoks)
Cody Neumann (Salisbury, Sherwood Park)
Daniel O’Blenes (John G. Diefenbacker, Calgary)
Albert Reese (Strathcona, Edmonton)*
Evan Selzler (Archbishop Jordan, Sherwood Park)*
James Sentell (Strathcona, Edmonton)
Ty Thompson (Ross Sheppard, Edmonton)
Cullen Wagner (Holy Rosary, Lloydminster)
Tommy Walters (Salisbury, Sherwood Park)
Navarone Watchmaker (Bonnyville)
Jacob Weller (Notre Dame, Red Deer)

Ty Anderson (Centennial, Calgary)
Mikhail Biggs (Austin O’Brien, Edmonton)
Luke Brower (Bishop Grandin, Calgary)
Matt Bruce (Foothills, Okotoks)
Xavier Chacana (Archbishop Jordan, Sherwood Park)
Blake Gibb (L.C.I., Lethbridge)
Dante Gibson (Notre Dame, Calgary)
Lamar Goods (Father Mercredi, Fort McMurray)*
Tristin Gross (Westlock)
Steven Groves (Henry Wise Wood, Calgary)
Jacob Kamajian (Holy Trinity Academy, Okotoks)
Scott MacDonell (Springbank)
Curtis Myshaniuk (Stettler)
Isaiah Neil (Harry Ainlay, Edmonton)
Nicholas Schmeiler (St. Francis, Calgary)
Colton Schmidt (Lloydminster)
Lance Sparks (Salisbury, Sherwood Park)
Jacob Yahaya (St. Francis, Calgary)*

Keon Adams (Henry Wise Wood, Calgary)
Matthew Bramwell (Salisbury, Sherwood Park)
Colin Clarke (Springbank)
Evan Eide (Holy Rosary, Lloydminster)
Matthew Fetter (Strathcona, Edmonton)
Daniel Flanagan (St. Francis, Calgary)
Garret Hatchard (Lloydminster)
Dolan Hills (Hunting Hills, Red Deer)
Treyton Hunt (St. Joseph’s, Grande Prairie)
Daniel Joseph (St. Francis, Calgary)
Simon King (St. Francis, Calgary)*
Oliver McIntosh (Leduc)
Carson Remus (Foothills, Okotoks)*
Gabriel Speerin (St. Joseph’s, Grande Prairie)
Jacob Tighe (Foothills, Okotoks)
Conner Tywoniuk (Harry Ainlay, Edmonton)
Kole Watson (Salisbury, Sherwood Park)
Bronson Wilke (Bellerose, St. Albert)
Kosta Zannis (Crescent Heights, Calgary)*

Tyshon Blackburn (St. Francis, Calgary)
River Cameron (Strathcona, Edmonton)
Charlie De Land (St. Francis, Calgary)*
Thomas Eccles (Salisbury, Sherwood Park)
Isiah Erskine (Centennial, Calgary)
Jackson Ganton (St. Albert)*
Jonathan Giustini (Notre Dame, Calgary)
Michael Hare (Henry Wise Wood, Calgary)
Jordan Innes (Ernest Manning, Calgary)*
Roman Iwuc (Harry Ainlay, Edmonton)
Marcus Kee (Henry Wise Wood, Calgary)
Brandon Kiehl-Griff (Raymond)
Kaleb MacNeil (Harry Ainlay, Edmonton)
Ethan Mather (Lloydminster)
Sheldon McNabb (Salisbury, Sherwood Park)*
Romeo Nash (Notre Dame, Calgary)
Chayton Nidd (Willow Creek, Claresholm)
Alvin Shimoli (Holy Trinity, Fort McMurray)
Kaleb Sommerfeld (Lloydminster)
Tyler Turner (Brooks)

Nathan Kasowski (Harry Ainlay, Edmonton)

Please follow us on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter to stay up-to-date with announcements, details, and information.


Past Championship Games of the Football Canada Cup:

1995: Alberta 10 Quebec 6

1996: Ontario 16 Alberta 16 (Ontario wins on points against for tournament)

1997: Alberta 56 Ontario 20

1998: Alberta 49 Nova Scotia 28

1999: British Columbia 45 Ontario 25

2000: Alberta 43 British Columbia 0

2001: Alberta 49 Manitoba 21

2002: Ontario 48 Manitoba 27

2003: Ontario 24 Alberta 21

2004: Ontario 21 Alberta 18 (OT) – U19, Eastern Ontario 47 Nova Scotia 0 – U17

2005: Manitoba 24 Alberta 14 – U19, Manitoba 30 Central Ontario 15 – U17

2006: Quebec 26 Saskatchewan 2 – U19, Manitoba wins round robin – U17

2007: Alberta 24 Ontario 7 – U19, Quebec 34 Manitoba 14 – U17

2008: Quebec 37 Alberta 11 – U19, Quebec 24 Southern Alberta 0 – U17

2009: Saskatchewan  17 Alberta 4 – U19, Eastern Ontario 42 Southern Alberta 7 – U17

2010: Saskatchewan 18 Quebec 10 – U18

2011: Quebec 28 Alberta 2

2012: Quebec 21 Alberta 11

2013: Quebec 43 Alberta 12

2014: Ontario 27 Saskatchewan 19